Upcoming Events
6:30 PM School Advisory Board
Picture retakes in PM
8:15 Mass - Holy Day of Obligation
6th, 7th, 8th penance service @ 1 PM
3rd, 4th, 5th penance service @ 1 PM
Scholastic Book Fair begins
6:30 2nd Grade Penance Service
1 PM dismissal - Faculty inservice
Scholastic Book Fair Ends
6:30 PM Parish Council
2:00 PM D.A.R.E. graduation
1 PM dismissal - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
Merry Christmas
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break
No School - Christmas Break


School Information

The first Catholic Grade School opened in Hannibal, Missouri in 1865. A short time later, in 1871, St. Joseph Academy, a girl’s high school was in operation. Two parishes were in existence in Hannibal, both having a Catholic elementary school. One of the parish schools was Blessed Sacrament located at 2100 Broadway. The other was St. Mary-Immaculate Conception School, located in the same building with the newly built (1925) McCooey High School, at 1113 Broadway. Blessed Sacrament parish and school merged with St. Mary parish and school to form the present parish and school known as Holy Family.
McCooey High School was closed in 1965. That building became the sole elementary school building for grades Kindergarten through Eight. In 1986, the Holy Family School Board voted to discontinue the Junior High (7th and 8th grades), and began a pre-kindergarten through grade six education system.
After many attempts to thoroughly study the feasibility of reinstating the 7th and 8th grades, the 1994-95 School Board voted to open Holy Family School to seventh graders in August 1995 and to eighth graders in August of 1996.
There are approximately 105 families with children in grades pre-kindergarten through 8th grade with a total enrollment of approximately 180 students. Holy Family parishioners have indicated a great appreciation of Catholic education and they value their Christian heritage.
Holy Family School meets the standards that are required by the Diocese of Jefferson City. Each standard builds and reflects the school’s educational mission and philosophy. Holy Family School personnel plan for a future based on pursuit of academic excellence and Faith development that enhances and enriches the spiritual dimension of each student and faculty member of Holy Family of Hannibal.
With positive parental involvement and continued financial support and encouragement from the pastor, school staff and other members of the parish, the people of Holy Family Parish look forward to meeting our goals and expectations now and through years to come.
Holy Family Parish Office                      221-1078                            2103 Broadway
Rev. Michael Quinn                                      Pastor
Sr. Mary Essner, SSND                           Pastoral Minister
Patty LaBar                                           Parish Secretary
Janice Rupp                                         Parish Bookkeeper

Holy Family School                                 221-0456                            1113 Broadway
Sister Betty Uchytil, SSND                      Principal               sbuchytil@myholyfamily.com 
Belinda Failor                                       Secretary               failor@myholyfamily.com

Melissa Millan                                        Grade 8                 millan@myholyfamily.com
Mervin Sharkey                                      Algebra                 sharkey@myholyfamily.com
Melissa Flaspohler                                  Grade 7                flaspohler@myholyfamily.com
Rochelle Neuman                                   Grade 6                 neuman@myholyfamily.com
Cherrie Allen                                         Grade 5                   allen@myholyfamily.com
Sally Dorris                                           Grade 4                  dorris@myholyfamily.com
Elaine Booher                                        Grade 3                  booher@myholyfamily.com
Sara Hooley                                          Grade 2                  hooley@myholyfamily.com
Denise Dodd                                          Grade 1                   dodd@myholyfamily.com
Tammy Hugenberg                             Kindergarten            hugenberg@myholyfamily.com
Julie Sheffer                                     Pre-Kindergarten           sheffer@myholyfamily.com
Ken Hess                                        Physical Education
Lisa Lee                                            Teacher Aide
Shelly Lowe                                              Art                         lowe@myholyfamily.com
Mark Hedges                                   Maintenance/Facilities
Wendy Fenton                                    Kitchen Assistant
Debra Pierceall                             Cook/Food Service Director

1113 Broadway
Hannibal, MO 63401
Phone: (573) 221-0456
Fax: (573) 221-6357
Get Directions